Contents - Previous Article - Next Article


The prefecture was the largest unit of territory under the new government formed by Diocletian and Constantine. PRAEFECTVRA PRAETORIO PER ORIENTEM (Praetorian Prefecture of the East) PRAEFECTVRA PRAETORIO GALLIARVM (Praetorian Prefecture of the Gauls) PRAEFECTVRA PRAETORIO ILLYRICI ITALIAE ET AFRICAE (Praetorian Prefecture of Italy, and Africa) and PRAEFECTVRA PRAETORIO PER ILLYRICVM (Praetorian Prefect of Greece and the central Balkans). Each prefecture was divided into several dioceses and each diocese was divided into smaller provinces.

Go to next article:
Go back to previous article:

Return to Cities and Provinces of the Empire Table of Contents
Return to History and Technology Back Pages - The home page for this entire site. :: Table of Contents
The Roman Government Social Classes Rome's Enemies Roman Emperors Cities of the Empire Roman Coins Writers & Historians
The Republic Christians and Lions Other Empires Roman Women Engineers & Technology Roman Art Interesting Events
The Late Empire The Roman Economy   Roman Army Trade and Transport Roman Food  
Home Page: History and Technology Back Pages Books Glossary Navigation and Help